Metamorphosis – Melting of the Seasons

 

This is an exploration of time and memory through the metaphor of changing seasons. It combines photographs and digital art images with natural soundscape, poetry, voice and music to convey the fluid changes of our experiences and memories.

ice portaits gf2

Used in this composition were portions of the following poems & songs and music.

 

Once Upon a Time ( song by Charles Strouse and Lee Adams ) sung by Mabel Mercer

I know I am but summer to your heart ( Edna St. Vincent Millay ) sung by Andrea Marcovicci

Just ( e.e. cummings ) spoken by J. P. Kanski

Hesitating Blues ( W. C. Handy ) instrumental opening played by Louis Armstrong and band – Full version here

Image 2rose

know I am but summer to your heart

(Sonnet XXVII)

Edna St. Vincent Millay, 1892 – 1950

( Read Biography )

I know I am but summer to your heart,

And not the full four seasons of the year;

And you must welcome from another part

Such noble moods as are not mine, my dear.

No gracious weight of golden fruits to sell

Have I, nor any wise and wintry thing;

And I have loved you all too long and well

To carry still the high sweet breast of Spring.

Wherefore I say: O love, as summer goes,

I must be gone, steal forth with silent drums,

That you may hail anew the bird and rose

When I come back to you, as summer comes.

Else will you seek, at some not distant time,

Even your summer in another clime.

Image 1summer flower

 

Just

e.e. cummings (read Biography)

in Just –

spring when the world is mud-

luscious the little

lame balloonman

 

 

whistles far and wee

 

 

and eddieandbill come

running from marbles and

piracies and it’s

spring


 

when the world is puddle-wonderful

 

 

the queer

old balloonman whistles

far and wee

and bettyandisbel come dancing


 

from hop-scotch and jump-rope and


it’s

spring

and

the


 

goat-footed


 

balloonMan whistles

far

and

wee

 

Ice Portrait 3

 

 

A Note on Process: For those interested in the behind the scenes technical bits, software used includes PaintShop Pro, Corel Video Studio Pro, Goldwave Audio and Sqirlz Morph.  The links above will provide more information on poets, singers, musicians and composers.  For more information about the young ladies in the lovely bonnets see the post Antique Impressions: Easter Bonnets on my photography blog.

 

8 thoughts on “Metamorphosis – Melting of the Seasons

    1. Many thanks Derrick. Fortunately I was able to use photos and images I had previously created or combine work to produce new elements, such as the frozen portraits and the animated gif.

      The tough part was having a set of images and video shots and planning a sequence. I had a rough idea of what I hoped to accomplish, so I created the sound track. Then I started putting things together and tweaking things to line them up the best I could.

      My wife was getting tired of listening from another room as I played pieces of the audio track over and over – first modifying it and then while I timed the images and transitions. 😀

    1. Thanks very much Richard. 🙂

      The Sqirlz Morph is free software – and you can create short animation morphing in a variety of formats.

  1. Loved this! The video’s a hit… been playing throughout the morning for newcomers who want to see the whole thing… again! again! again, goes the chant.

Leave a Reply

