Animus & Anima

animus - anima

 

 

animus - anima 2

The anima and animus, in Carl Jung’s school of analytical psychology, are the two primary anthropomorphic archetypes of the unconscious mind, as opposed to both the theriomorphic and inferior function of the shadow archetypes, as well as the abstract symbol sets that formulate the archetype of the Self. The anima and animus are described by Jung as elements of his theory of the collective unconscious, a domain of the unconscious that transcends the personal psyche. In the unconscious of a man, this archetype finds expression as a feminine inner personality: anima; equivalently, in the unconscious of a woman it is expressed as a masculine inner personality: animus.

The anima and animus can be identified as the totality of the unconscious feminine psychological qualities that a man possesses or the masculine ones possessed by a woman, respectively. It is an archetype of the collective unconscious and not an aggregate of father or mother, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, or teachers, though these aspects of the personal unconscious can influence the person for good or ill.

Because a man’s sensitivity must often be repressed, the anima is one of the most significant autonomous complexes of all. It is said to manifest itself by appearing in dreams. It also influences a man’s interactions with women and his attitudes toward them and vice versa for women and the animus. Jung said that “the encounter with the shadow is the ‘apprentice-piece’ in the individual’s development…that with the anima is the ‘masterpiece'”. Jung viewed the anima process as being one of the sources of creative ability. SOURCE

anima - animus brd

 

anima - animus 2sg

 

anima animus
animus anima
examples sing
anima animus projections
ShadowsΒ  & Personas
anima animus relationships
transcend
anima animus
Shadows and Persona
Sing & Dance
6 thoughts on “Animus & Anima

  1. Avery interesting post.your digital image is really intriguing. I found myself really exploring it. The way you have presented it really adds to the impact.

    1. I am working within the confines of a laptop – computer took ill ( there is a funny story there, but will wait till I get the computer back and then I can laugh more heartily). As a consequence I am working without access to 99.9% of my textures and most of my most recent photos. The laptop slot is too small for my camera’s memory card. On top of that, for some reason only the older version of my image software works on this sucker. 😦 Did I mention the keyboard annoys me. Notice smaller text size in blog post. πŸ˜€

      As a consequence, I am working with older images, and for this post I used some photographs from the Flickr Commons Historical archives and screen captures from old Bollywood scenes.

      Here is the resource for old photos & documents.

      https://www.flickr.com/commons

      1. It has led to some interesting work. I am having computer issues to and am mostly using a tablet. I wish I could figure out how to post links with it but there does not seem to be a way. Sometimes lately I am giving up the technology battles and going for a walk instead. πŸ™‚

      2. Got the computer back this afternoon. Comedy of errors – as the lady in the shop said “didn’t you just walk out with that a few minutes ago”. πŸ˜€

        The issue was quickly identified as a faulty video card. It was removed. When I got home I could not plug in the monitor because the back socket did not match monitor plug. Went back and the gave me an alternative plug which works fine.

        All work and parts free of charge. Advantage of living in a small community. Not only do we have longstanding relationship with the shop, but current owner was a student and friends with my son back in secondary school days. Practically family . πŸ™‚

        You should be able to copy links and post using a tablet. Mind you I find touch screens difficult to navigate myself. You’ll need to find someone from the touch screen generation/culture who is adept at letting their fingers do the walking. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

