Fish on a Pan

Fish on a Pan

 

Fish on a Pan 2

3 thoughts on “Fish on a Pan

  1. You get a ton of likes yet no comments. I have the same thing whenever I put a piece of art up. And I wonder why? Do people feel unqualified to comment on art because this is primarily a written blog medium. This is frustrating for me because in my opinion the old addage, “a picture says a thousand words rings true.” I think images offer a great abstract break from the rational linearity…. ( and there you have it. Left brain dominance. Methinks interpreting abstract art is a more right brain affair perhaps thats why? Who knows. I dig this one. This one feels sinesthetic to me. As if I have inhaled the image but instead of smelling fish this image has appeared in my mind’s eye. Bravo. Good stuff. I see your stuff not so much as abstracted reality but a reality in it’s own right, just one with which rational process has very little sway.

    1. I play with the in-betweens, implied spaces. My background is literature, mass media, philosophy and communication theory – primarily in the areas of education as a secondary school teacher.

      I tend to view things holistically, seeing the interconnection of ideas and trends/patterns. My writing emphasizes metaphors, similes, analogies, and word-play ; I will blend the visual imagery with the abstract idea. As a consequence, my more experimental images often play work the inverse. For example the images here are both fish on a pan; I used texture layers based on close-up shots of well used baking sheets combined with old photos of fish. The images are suspended between the literal and the figurative. 😀

      As to likes and comments, from a media Literacy point of view, I have been considering the patterns of behaviour. First off I think many bloggers quickly become overwhelmed with the amount of media content that becomes available when you become part of the blogging community. Feeling the desire to reach out and make contact without feeling guilty for leaving people out, they either just hit the like button or leave a brief comment. I do not think they are being superficial, especially when you see their own efforts posted, they are just limited in time.

      Now obviously, posts that set-up abstract topics may bewilder or intimidate some and they may appreciate the aesthetics , but feel any input they may have is wrong or not worthwhile; I’ve taught enough years to recognize the timid student syndrome . 😀

      Another thing that I spotted in patterns is how the number of likes shifted when I made this blog my main one instead of my photo blog. They are both getting regular posts almost every day ( I am retired and live on the computer , as my wife points out ). because my WordPress setting aims people to this blog, more older posts get visited than on either the photo blog or the media literacy blog.

      I’ve also noticed that in spite of the links embedded in some posts and the various links on the sidebars, few people go off on these tangents. I do not know if it is because many of those visiting my blogs are older, and are therefore used to more linear media forms, or because they assume the links will move them to other websites and do not wish to be swept off with the internet tide . 😀

      Many thanks for taking the time to comment. Hopefully neither of us are synthetic AIs – if we both are, then I’m sure our programmers are very impressed. 😀

      1. Yes, I have noticed similar behaviors. I agree that one of the major reasons is due to the overwhelming amount of information. Thank you kindly for your in-depth thoughts.

Leave a Reply

