I’ve Been Loving You Too Long

ive-been-loving-you-too-long

Original Photo shows Japanese writer Takeshi Kanno with his wife, sculptor Gertrude Farquharson Boyle (1876-1937).

(Source: Flickr Commons project, 2011)

But at my back I always hear

Time’s winged chariot hurrying near;

And yonder all before us lie

Deserts of vast eternity.

Thy beauty shall no more be found,

Nor, in thy marble vault, shall sound

My echoing song; then worms shall try

That long preserv’d virginity,

And your quaint honour turn to dust,

And into ashes all my lust.

The grave’s a fine and private place,

But none I think do there embrace.

To his Coy Mistress

by Andrew Marvell

4 thoughts on “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long

Leave a Reply

