Implied Spaces – Media Experiment

I tried  a little mass media-blogging experiment. As a consequence of playing with the blog system here are my present top posts.

The Needle on The Oil

Red Letters: Memories of You

Magazine Cover & Book Spine Poem: Traveling with The Dead

Corner Shot

The Dadaist Detective and the Curious Case of the Asemic Arsonist

Mail From the Borderlands: Who casts not up his eye to the sun when it rises?

All About Implied Spaces

Book Spine Poetry: Strange Doings

Broken Folklore: Glouyeinshire Tales

River Metamorphosis

 

Some of these posts go back to 2014 ( I remember when that was once perceived  as considerably far enough in the future to be a setting for a Speculative Fiction narrative), if you missed out on any of these, you may wish to take a look. For those of you who have seen the posts, I include some new compositions based on screen capture of a blog post ( pedalling faster ), scanography, and some digital photos of the family TV screen. 

I also have a couple of questions  about blog layouts and reading habits related to blog posts. I have included to a musical component to the blog to make the whole process of reading the blog more enjoyable.

 

 

Blogs include a range of components, depending of the content and intended target audience.  Some of these components reflect the social media aspect of blogging. Besides likes and comments, many bloggers will include My Community, Recent comments, Top Posts & Pages, and Recent Posts Visited & Liked by the blogger. These specific components of a blog’s layout demonstrate the blogger’s activity in producing and interacting with the blogging community. It also provides a structure that invites/encourages others to participate in the shared social experience of blogging.

Further components enable a viewer to explore the blog based on related subjects by using Categories and Tags ( presented as lists/clouds ). The blog can also be explored through searches and an archival search/listing. The viewer can often interact through comments that  go back a number of months or even years.

 

Pondering all this left me wondering about the effectiveness of these components.  I also began considering how the expansion of digital devices has altered how blog posts are being accessed.  Recently WordPress made changes to the Editor & Reader to accommodate a growing audience that are using digital tablets & phablets , as well as phones and laptops. Many were not happy with these changes, especially those “old school” desktop bloggers who found that the new touch-screen interfaces & layouts were less friendly when trying to use a desktop screen & keyboard.  They also noticed that the Reader’s new layout, designed to be more friendly to a Touch-screen Tablet was more effective at presenting specific type of content –  posts with more than three images and posts with longer pieces of prose text  were presented more clearly.

This is actually an example of mass media  technology subtly shifting into a new medium.   It is subtle because the technological advances do not initially appear to either the creator/producer or the target audience to be a change in media; the changes are seen as enhancements, but still considered the same medium.  Moving from radio to television is an obvious change from one medium to another, as is going from photography to cinematography.   Changing from black and white to colour photography/cinematography/television is a change in media. Moving from a desktop screen to a hand held touch screen is technological enhancement that alters how the viewer interacts with the media content, therefore it is a change in the type of media delivering the content. When you change the medium, you alter the message.

 

So here are the questions I have been considering – I  am hoping you will provide some feedback.

How many of these components do you include in your blog’s layout ? Why ?

Do you use any of these blog features when visiting other blogs ?  Why ?

How are you accessing blogs such as mine ?

Are differences in digital devices influencing your consumption and production of blog content ? 

Hope you enjoyed  the post and thanks for any input you may provide.

15 thoughts on “Implied Spaces – Media Experiment

    1. Yes, the Reader favours longer prose over poetic forms. If you go to a Poetry Tag to check out recent posts, you know what to expect. If you run across some type of poetry in a post under a different tag, say for example Art or Environment, you may not recognize the post as a poetic form and just skip it.

      The single wide angle cropped image display is another problem – depending on the composition, the display may look very uninteresting/odd/unattractive. To get a complete image on display you need to either have sufficient text, so that the full image appears besides a selection of the opening text, or you need to have four or more images so that a sequence of images is displayed.

      The codes & conventions of the new Reader layout is more visually friendly to reading on a Tablet device ( emulates a Magazine layout ), but it skews to specific type of content . In the case of poetry, including at least 4 images will get you a better visual enticement to catch a potential readers.

  1. I enjoyed this post. I prefer to view this and other blogs on my PC and not my cell. I love the music in this post. I don’t add videos and multimedia to my blog, I prefer to focus on my photography. I follow photography and a few art blogs mostly. I enjoy your multimedia blog a lot.

    1. Many thanks. 🙂 As I mentioned in my comment to The Cheeseseller’s Wife, the new Reader layout attempts to emulate a magazine style, with either a sequence of four images or a single whole image together with a sufficient piece of the opening text to hook the audience.

      It displays prose better than poetry in this layout. Having less than 4 images with minimum will result in a single wide screen cropped image on display. Depending on the composition of the image, the result can be very unappealing.

      They have created a digital box that makes promoting a wide range/variety of creative digital expression difficult.

  2. I don’t use the components because I don’t know how 🙂

    I do sometimes look at others’ uses of them – to register mutual community members and to see whether I am featured 🙂

    I access blogs through the Reader

    I am oblivious to differences in digital devices

    I enjoyed this post and admire your grasp of the technicalities

    1. Thanks Derrick.

      If you go to Dashboard for your blog the menu will show Appearance. Appearance has a sub-heading Widgets. You can choose a widget, Archive, and place and modify it for your layout. 🙂

  3. This is interesting. First time I hear ‘phablet’, I’m not technologically curious. Also, I’ve just started my new, writing blog and have played around with themes for a while, so much so that I changed the theme of my primary blog by accident and had to add the widgets once again. I retained all the ones that I had in the past, namely:
    1. ‘Search’ button. I think it’s highly useful. I often search for ‘Slovenia’ in other people’s blogs.
    2. Last 8 posts I posted. Sometimes I feel sorry for a post because it didn’t get many views and hope a list like that would make people pay more attention.
    3. Archive by months with the number of posts per month.
    4. Last 8 posts I liked on other people’s blogs. I like having them close. Sometimes people actually click on them.
    5. Too many tags but I don’t mind a long tag list. It’s informative.
    6. All categories with the number of posts per category
    7. ‘Follow my blog’ and ‘Follow my blog by e-mail’ widgets.
    8. My friendly face gravatar.
    9. A not really clear internet use ShareAlike waiver. Probably should look into it.

    For my new blog, however, I’ve chosen only both ‘follow’ buttons, Archives, Gravatar and Search. And the ShareAlike waiver again. Hmmm.

    I’ll be looking into the selection of your posts above now. Curious.

    1. Many thanks. I try to use the archives & tags to explore blogs. Particularly interested in early posts, especially if the blog has been around for some time. It can be like a bit of archaeological/historical exploration of how the blog & blogger has changed over time. Also early posts often don’t get many visits, likes or comments, so I try give them interest and push time up line as it were.

      I am not sure how the WordPress metrics work, but they appear to push only the most recent posts and to some limited degree the most active posts. When I get an email notification of another blogger visiting one of my posts, it recommends only the most recent 3-4 posts .

      I also will visit bloggers who like/comment on other blogs and use the Posts I Like to extend my exploration . 🙂

      1. Oh, this is highly commendable, that you explore the earliest posts. This is my second blog but if I look at the start of my first, I see that at the beginning I told much more about me. 🙂 Then with time I started to show more than say, and keep much of what I’d once have told to myself. Possibly that’s why I’ve started another blog just now. Words are itching. It’s great to hear about how you do it.

  4. Photography, pencil sketches, oil or acrylic paintings, various art softwares, individual tagged frames from videos (more time consuming, especially with those over 15 minutes), both separate and blends of any and all these– together with my verse of the moment (sometimes the verse influencing the final picture; sometimes the pic providing the verse.) That’s my way. Peace.

    1. Many thanks for responding and giving background on your processes and uses of blog layout. Much appreciated.

      I also slip back and forth between visual compositions and prose/poetry initiating one another. I have done a few video pieces, which I have posted on Vimeo. A couple of them have been incorporated into posts on this blog or my Dark Pines Photo blog.

      My Snow White post includes one of those.

      https://impliedspaces.wordpress.com/2015/02/22/snow-white-the-other-side/

Leave a Reply

