Notes on Yeats & Other Considerations

 

aaaaaaaaaanowmetaphorwaaaaaaasoaaa

aaaaaaaaanamegnosisknowledge/waaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaaas#3shadow/saallASKnowaaaaaaaaaaaaa

aaathey’re wasted as a mall is a moth stoneaxephone%aa~How many lovey our morns memory-tents off glad glace,

As sand loved our beauty with love false ores so true,

But one man loved the pilgrim soul in youth’s flowers,

And loved their sorrows [often] your changeling face;aaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaafffffffffffffffffffffffaaaaaaa3/**

a/~Q(the real song is a small smooth stone) aa@a&a(a)

aaaaa/aaaaaaathere was this tall smooth-talking stone mason: Come away, O human child!
To the waters and the wild
With a faery, hand in hand,
For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand.

 

When you are old and grey and full of sleep,

And nodding by the fire, take down this book,

And slowly read, and dream of the soft look

Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;

eaaaaaaa#aa/aaaa!aaaa

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

the 8;7$7&0#1recipesourdough

How many loved your moments of glad grace,

And loved your beauty with love false or true,

But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,

And loved the sorrows of your changing face;

a small smooth stone

there was a smaaaaa/aaaaaaathere was  tall fall smooth stone

there was a small smooth stone

I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,

there waaaaas#3shadow/saaaall smooth stonevening full of the linnet’s wings.metaphor compare allusions

 

aaaaas#3shadow/I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,sailing~figurative languageaa now WBYeast 2tspRhyme/Rhythm rye-whole wheat flour

 

************

 

Process Notes:   The digital compositions began as photos and scans of pages bread recipe books and pages from an old discarded school text (Poems with hand written notes). See post the stone that wished to know the wind  for the original line about the small smooth stone.

I recently altered this blogs layout template, several times trying to find a more reader pleasing design for those using different digital devices. Feedback would be appreciated. I can not decide if this one is any better.

10 thoughts on “Notes on Yeats & Other Considerations

  1. You ask for feedback. I’m viewing this on a small Android device, and prefer the landscape format to portrait. The changes in text size seem quite extreme, but that’s probably the limitations of the device.

    My favourite image is the middle one of the series, mainly because I liked the collage effect more than the more manipulated treatments which were like freezeframes of the animated screensavers that used to be popular; that’s just me, though, I like to know the sources!

    I’m less confident pontificating about the interweaving of the Yeats and the other texts, so please forgive me if I don’t. Perhaps approaching midnight UK time isn’t the best moment for literary critique!

    1. Many thanks for input. I tend to compose blog posts in the assumption that there will be a fair size screen, because I am interested in the blending of digital content. I was hoping this format would present greater detail of images without having the viewer needing to click on the image to see a larger version.

      The text size issue is a puzzlement. The default text size appears very small on the computer screen, while the attempt at a larger size now becomes disproportionately larger than the default. The default lies in our screens, not in our eyes.

      I have tweaked the settings a bit, hopefully, that helps – or I will go scrounging about for a different template. 🙂

  2. Personally I like the new look, especially how it allows the images to pop. (With the previous format, things could sometimes get a little crowded and busy.) I should point out that I am currently viewing this on a laptop, and I can see how it might be a different viewing experience for someone on a smaller device. One tiny quibble: The text in this message box (for me, anyway) has a “faded coral” color to it, and it’s a little hard to see.

    1. Thanks for the input Brian. I have tried to alter the setting of the colour tones to keep it as close to the original ones I had. I now have a deeper earth brown with a strange green for the text message box. Not the greatest, but easier to see than that coral/pinky colour. 🙂

      Still playing with the settings to see if I can manipulate the colour a bit. Also trying to find a reasonable size for the text in the blog post. Small problems really, not as if American Congress wants be tell them about what I know about Poutine. 😀

  3. This template works well on a phone in the WordPress App. Your work is deliciously disorienting on its own merits, regardless of the format. To make our blog less generic on handheld devices it’s best to turn off the “mobile” feature in Customize Theme under Appearance in the Administrative Dashboard.

    1. Thanks for the input and support. trying different setting to see if viewers have better experience. This particular layout is mobile device friendly – not sure how that is influencing setting outcomes. 🙂

      1. If it’s set to mobile device friendly it will bypass your theme and present a default WordPress blue background and banner. I switched my mobile friendly “off” so that my theme will be represented properly on any device, especially after I went to so much trouble tweaking my settings and finding the right theme as you’re doing.

Leave a Reply

