Consider the View

 

Blue skies

Smiling at me,

Nothing but blue skies

Do I see.


Bluebirds

Singing a song.

Nothing but bluebirds

All day long.

Never saw the sun shining so bright.

Never saw things going so right.

Noticing the days hurrying by,

When you’re in love, my how they fly……

“Blue Skies” composed by Irving Berlin in 1926.

 

Blue Days,

All of them gone,

Nothing but Blue Skies from now on.

 

June is a tricky month of memories for me. Father’s Day, my father’s birthday, and my parent’s wedding anniversary( June 21)  all clustered together.  My father, Paul Kanski, passed away in 1992, at the age of 76.  He and mom loved to dance – they grew up in the age of the great dance bands, when jitterbug was king & foxtrot ruled the floorboards of the dance halls. Blue Skies was one of his favourite tunes. Sometimes, late at night I could hear mom singing it to him in their bedroom.   Even now in my 60s I miss them – Time is a con artist, handing you gifts with one hand, while picking your pocket with the other. 

over me, music –

blue skies above carry clouds

dancing – silent steps.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Consider the View

Leave a Reply

